[The Duchess of the Attic] Ch 26 – Reunion

After returning to the county for the first time in a long time, Opal was climbing a tree that she had been accustomed to since she was a child, and was looking into the distance.

However, even in the quiet scenery that is shown in her eyes, her mind is occupied by something else.

(The day before yesterday, when my father called me to the mansion of the royal capital and heard it, he was upset.)

(Probably more than when he ordered me to marry Hubert.)

More than ten years ago, at the time of the scandal that struck Opal, who had just debuted in social circles, Claude came to her father to get permission to marry Opal.

(My father at that time said he was just a college student and kicked him out.)

Nonetheless, three years later Claude again visited her father, seeking a marriage with Opal.

Moreover, despite being a member of a Baron family, Claude seems to have been earning wages through labor and using that as a starting point to increase his wealth through investment.

Of course, it was only a small amount in comparison to her father’s account.

It was less than 30% of Opal’s dowry, but he had touched her heart now that she came to know it.

However, her father had already signed a contract with Hubert, and the future of Opal was fixed.

No matter how much wealth Claude may have and that they could live well, without having to depend on Opal’s dowry, it’s too different the life of a Duchess and just a gentleman-class wife.

Opal needs no monetary help in the first place.

When he decided Opal’s marriage, Claude seemed to have left with a small letter of congratulations.

“Daughter… I’m sorry. I thought that if you were suddenly married to a childhood friend, who is only a knight, you would soon get bored and regret having married him, if you were to not get along. I also thought, that even if you would face adversity at the Duke’s house, you liked him from the first moment you two danced together. I also think… that being a duchess suits you better.”

“… Why are you talking now?”

“I knew that when you were twenty, you were going to live in the country without getting married. So if I forced you to get married, you’ll repel me but do your best at your married life. However, my judgment was a big mistake, because you behaved differently than I expected, wasting seven years, and in the end you decided to live a retired life in the countryside. So I say this… to explain why I decided so, and to let you know that you have another option of life.”

“This is what I want for my life, father.”

Opal replied resolutely to her father’s confession. Her father, instead, was silent all through the talk about why she separated from Hubert.

(Actually, all this time, I had been hiding a big pain in my chest.)

(The last day we met, Claude blessed my marriage.)

If Opal reluctantly confessed her circumstances, would Claude have helped?

While she asks herself that, so many times, she’s every time amazed at her own stupidity.

The prince on the white horse has been right by her side …. always. From childhood. But she didn’t notice it.

(When I’ve been in a difficult time, if I asked for help, Claude would have always bravely helped me.)

(Claude would have helped me this time too, if I wanted it.)

(But then, Claude would have been blamed for the heavy crime of disrupting a marriage.)

(So this was good.)

(It was often painful, the times spent in these seven years since I married Hubert, but it was worth it. Because the Duke’s men were able to get out of poverty and Hubert was able to become a true Duke for his people.)

For Opal, it’s as if her little brother, who had depended on her for seven years, was finally able to stand alone, and there was a certain sense of accomplishment.

Naturally, the divorce between the two was the main topic in the social circles for almost a year.

There are many unfriendly couples in social circles, but they rarely actually divorce.

Most concluded that the Duke gave up on Opal, who for seven years never got pregnant.

However, Hubert denied it.

Opal wasn’t the kind of woman the rumors told him she was, before marriage.

In the first place, this marriage was a contract that Opal offered to save Hubert, who was in need for financial aid, and she supported Hubert after their marriage, until he was able to solve the difficult situation of his house.

Furthermore, the fact that Hubert is now who he is, is due to Opal, and Hubert himself wanted to continue the marriage, but he was rejected.

That’s what he said to everyone with a bitter smile.

Everybody was surprised at this story.

There are many doubts, of course, but no one has disagreed with what the Duke says, and no one has seen Opal behave flashy after marriage.

On the contrary, it is certain that he was always following the ex-Duchess.

In this way Opal’s honor was restored, but it didn’t matter to Opal.

She wishes for Hubert to get married as soon as possible and be happy this time.

But that shouldn’t be too difficult.

Today Hubert is a pretty wealthy man and is considered the best marriage candidate in the social circles. All unmarried women and their mothers make noise about it, and drown in expectations of being chosen by him.

In fact, Hubert needs a child to succeed him, and will probably get married soon, considering his age.

Apparently these days Hubert got close to a certain woman.

It is said that the woman is young and famous for being firm, she is of humble disposition too, but it is correct to say that the more enthusiastic one about this was her father.

“And that girl has a powerful and harsh mother. If she marries him, the Duke will be under strict surveillance by mother and daughter.”

Recalling his father’s laughing words, Opal sighed.

The problem is Stella’s existence.

Hubert seems to think of Stella as a sister, but Stella clearly feels different about him.

Thinking about how the new marriage partner would see Stella’s existence and how Hubert would respond, Opal sighed again. But it’s no longer relevant to her.

(Now I live in a small house on the land my grandmother left behind, as I decided before I got married.)

(I don’t know what happened to the name transfer documents that I returned to Hubert, but when Hubert bought back his territory and mansion, all the money was paid according to the promise.)

On the contrary, to the rest of properties.

Despite having her uncle intervene, Hubert seemed to insist that he would pay more than what was agreed stubbornly, and eventually Opal became angry.

Hubert’s letters, which she received several times after their divorce, only mentioned the payment.

However, she thought it to be an excuse to continue in contact, and sent back all letters without opening the seal. She also asked him to contact her through an agent, so the truth remains unknown.

That’s probably why the letters arrived after the money was paid.

Opal then invested Hubert’s payments in Mantest again. She didn’t want to take a single penny away that wasn’t hers.

The profits were intended to be used to improve the treatment of those who work at Mantest.

A good working environment will result in a good job and will be profitable.

That is also what she saw directly in the Duke’s territory.

Opal also intended to set up an organization to support women’s independence with the increased assets of investment.

(It’s strange that you can’t get a business loan or get a job just because you’re a woman.)

Opal, who set new goals, was motivated.

But she was still a little bit sentimental to hear the truth from her father.

As Opal decided on a strong new idea again, she heard familiar footsteps from behind, so she turned around.

Then she became stupefied.

“It’s been a while, Opal. But it seems, I don’t need to ask if you’re fine.”

“…Yes. As you can see, I’m fine enough to climb a tree. It’s been a while since you’ve been here, Claude.”

Claude’s face is hard to see from above the tree.

But his footsteps are the same.

Perhaps it was because of a different way of speaking, Claude’s voice seemed a little low in comparison to her memories.

“Come down, Opal. It’s been a while, so show me your face.”

“Why do I have to go down after I climbed? You should climb up.”

“Don’t say crazy things. If I climb up the tree, it won’t support my weight, right? We’re no longer the same as we used to be.”

“… Maybe it’s as you said…”

I didn’t want Claude to see my crying face, so I made him wait a bit, until I came down.

Then Claude answers with a bitter smile.

The words were as if he knew her current situation, and Opal couldn’t think of a good excuse.

(Once upon a time we used to climb up this tree and lined up in the distance, but now we can’t.)

Claude, who came back after a long time, was no longer her childhood friend who she could always happily hug to welcome him.

Moreover, now that she heard the story from her father, she feels so sorry that she doesn’t have the face to meet him.

“Please come down because everything that has happened is okay with me… or I’ll drag you down.”

“Hey! I know! I know, stop it, Claude!”

Ignoring Opal feelings, when Claude came under the tree, he tried to pull Opal’s legs like he used to.

She hurriedly avoided it, but this time he grabbed her from the skirt and pulled it.

When Opal yelled, Claude’s attack finally stopped.

Looking down, she could see Claude’s face with a grin, and Opal’s crying and tears disappeared.

(If I could, I would climb to a place that Claude couldn’t reach)

But Opal’s pride doesn’t allow it.

Because Claude knows the character of Opal well, he waits for her to come down with a grinning smile.

“…If you’re a gentleman, can you look back for a while?”

“Why? You didn’t ask me this in the past.”

“I used to be able to get down easily, but now it’s a little tricky.”

“Then I’ll have to look away. But! I’ll help you when it’s dangerous.”

“… Thank you”

Claude lightly raised his eyebrows at the obedient answer from Opal, but he said nothing.

Then Opal stands up in her skirt, and hugs a thick branch with her body facing the trunk.

(I hope that he could not see the inside of the skirt) But Opal continued to descend boldly as before.

However, her body slipped down like it did in the past, and Claude’s arms quickly stretched out and supported her.

Then, Opal was held tightly and gently placed on the ground.

“…Thank you, Claude”

“I didn’t think it would really help. My arm practically fell from your weight.”

“Your physical strength has fallen rather than my weight increasing. Am I twenty-seven not?”

Laughing and answering, Opal casually left with Claude.

Claude, who hasn’t seen her for a long time, has become an adult man with no boyishness.

Opal looked down, wondering how she looked compared to Claude, who became so attractive.

However, this seems to make her wonder, she is out of her usual self now.

Thinking so, Opal looked up and looked straight at Claude and laughed.

“It seems, I don’t need to ask if you’re doing well. You helped me a lot. Thank you very much.”

“Oh, I’m fine. Even so, aren’t you glad to see me? What’s wrong?”

“I don’t know. I wasn’t contacted for nearly eight years and you don’t know how worried I was… But you were still in touch with my father.”

Opal clasped his right hand and tapped Claude’s chest.

However, Claude doesn’t avoid it, he looked at Opal surprised.

And hesitantly, he opened his mouth.

“… Did you hear?”

“I heard. You’re Marquis Roussel of the Kingdom of Taisei now.”

Translated by Djurasico (dot) home (dot) blog

One thought on “[The Duchess of the Attic] Ch 26 – Reunion

Leave a comment