[The Duchess of the Attic] Ch 25 – Ceremony II

“… Even if I’m told to officially marry you… Aren’t we already married?”

Opal’s answer was reasonable.

Hubert’s face turns red and he asks.

“But it’s only nominal. I… I was really terrified of you at the beginning of this marriage. No excuse, I was so full of debt and there was Stella that I needed to take care of, at that time. But I’ve always been attracted to you since I first danced with you ten years ago, and with how we got married hurt my pride. I foolishly made you suffer because of my scarred pride. I’m really sorry.”

“It’s already… good, because I did the worst too, such as tricking my husband into giving me the land.”

“No, it doesn’t matter. That’s what was needed for me to wake up. Of course, I initially had a grudge at you, but then I understood why you were acting like that. I now have realized it, I now know how great you were and that I was attracted to you from the first time we danced together, and now I have more qualifications to confess to you. So when I bought back all the territories, I decided to ask you to marry me again.”

Hearing Hubert’s confession, Opal realized why he was so impatient to buy the Mantest land.

If she didn’t arrogantly try Hubert and cheered him on from the beginning, he would never have crossed such a dangerous bridge, as to take the high risk project of Mantest.

At that time, Hubert was saying that he would live with Stella, so Opal concluded that he loved Stella.

(Speaking of which, he said that if he failed he will go live with Stella at the territory he bought her.)

Opal now remembered Stella.

“But Husband… you love Stella…”

“Stella? No way! To me, Stella is like my sister!”

Hubert explains to Opal in a frenzy with his face red.

“Of course I love Stella, but it’s because she’s my family, it’s not like what you think at all. But…for a while, I was afraid that you’d be jealous of Stella and hurt her. So that’s why I was so overprotective of her.”

“Is that so…”

“Oh, I love you Opal. Would you marry me again?”

At this proposal from Hubert, the stunned Opal looked perplexed at him kneeling down at her feet.

She dreamed of this scene for a long time…

And now everything was already dead.

From that day seven years ago, Opal’s determination remains the same.

“Sorry, husband. I can’t accept your feelings.”

Upon hearing Opal’s refusal, Hubert looked at her unbelievable.

Still, Opal continues plainly.

“I made the decision seven years ago when I tricked you, husband, into giving me the territory and mansion. When you bought back half of the property I had taken away, I would return it all. And we’ll get separated.”

“Well, I don’t need that. I’ll buy it from you. So–“

“Please let’s separate, husband. Please free me.”

“Freedom…? Why? Why…”

“To be honest, I was very attracted to you when we first danced. If I was proposed by you husband at that time, I would have jumped from happiness. But I was caught in a scandal, and the world didn’t forgive me even though nothing really happened.”

This time Hubert seemed surprised at Opal’s confession.

Opal also thinks she was stupid at that time.

(After all, both of us were young and stupid.)

“By the time I’m 20 years old, I’ll be able to use my grandmother’s heritage independently of my father. With that in mind, I had planned to live peacefully in the countryside after divorcing you husband. I was ordered, I was angry at the mistreatment, I suffered a lot because of you and your servants, and I think I was very cheeky and rebellious after my marriage. I didn’t like anything at that time, I wanted to be freed from it all.”

“It was not you being cheeky nor anything… I was supposed to be more senior at that time and failed you. I’m indebted to you and your father, I was outrageous.”

Opal had a sad smile as Hubert was begging for forgiveness.

“Opal?”

“Dear husband, they’re calling me. Can you wait for a while?”

Having said that, Opal entered her assigned room and returned to the living room.

Then put the documents she got from her room on the table.

Hubert glanced down at the papers, then opened his eyes.

“I was going to hand it over after the ceremony today. Also, the money you paid for the repurchase of the land is going to be an investment on Mantest development, so as I said earlier, here is the promise to return all of it, so please sign for it to be real.”

Hubert was staring at the divorce document that was placed next to the ownership document for the Duke’s assets.

With a bitter smile, Opal adds.

“Of course, please read it carefully before you sign it. You will understand that the document doesn’t have anything suspicious if you read it.”

“Isn’t it… can’t we start over?”

“…You said that Stella was just like a sister for you? Well, I can’t think of her… as only your sister. So every time you care for her, or go to her, I’ll think of her as your partner. However, husband you have the right to decide if divorce or not. If you refuse, there is no choice. You will need a successor, so–“

“It’s good! I’ll sign, so don’t say more.”

In a state of complete pity, Hubert interrupted Opal’s words.

Although Opal was his wife, but from the time she had deceived him into giving her his property, she could only see him as a young naive child.

And she had a weird sense of mission that she had to educate this naive child into a proper Duke.

Four years ago, she was disappointed but couldn’t abandon him, but she offered to divorce him, as he expected.

In the worst case, she would have asked an agent to keep an eye on the duke’s property in the future.

However, it was natural that Hubert needed a heir, and she was determined to accept it if she had to.

But even if she had a grudge, she never thought that Hubert had romantic feelings for her, so she assumed the worst for children conceived by her as well.

(He’s forced to make a succession on behalf of Stella, I can not hope for children, they will only suffer the same treatment as me.)

“I’m sorry Opal. I’m already tired today and it’s hard to read the documents. So I’ll reply tomorrow, is it okey?”

“–Yes, of course”

In response to Hubert’s painful expression, Opal answered clearly, and he stood up.

Then, after Hubert left, she returns to her room from the living room.

He didn’t say anything, but she thought it was better that way.

When she called the maid to remove her makeup, she really wanted to take another bath, but she put up with it and put on a night robe and went to bed.

She was so tired that she was able to sleep immediately after closing her eyes, but at the same time she couldn’t sleep well because she was worried about the faint sound coming from the living room.

Still, Opal seems to have slept before she knew it.

The next morning, when she woke up bathed in the sunlight, the maid told her that Hubert had already left the hotel.

Moreover, Hubert seems to have left the maid a deposit.

When Opal, who received the large envelope presented, checked the contents on the spot, it was a signed divorce.

However, there is nothing else.

The documents of the land were not there.

Opal took a deep breath and set herself up, had a good breakfast and left the hotel.

The destination is the Duke’s residence in the royal capital.

(To be honest, it’s awkward to meet Hubert, but there are things I have to do before I can formally submit my divorce.)

Arriving at the Duke’s House a few days later, she heard that Hubert hadn’t returned and was slightly worried.

But already, Hubert is a good adult.

Opal left her thoughts aside, and told to call the mistress, and gather all the servants.

There, while Beth pushes the wheelchair, Stella appears with Mrs. Northam and Romit, staring at Opal.

“Why did you come back?”

“Hello, Stella. It’s been quite a long time. And you look quite healthy too.”

“Unfortunately, Hubert is not here.”

“It looks like the medicine is working. Good.”

Both Beth and Romit look stunned at Opal and Stella, who are having a conversation that never engages.

Probably it’s the first time they’ve seen Stella with such a tight attitude.

“Stella, stop! It’s rude!”

“Oh, it doesn’t matter. But what happened?”

“Oh, now I’m staying here to get Stella to see a doctor. It’s her monthly checkup time…”

“Oh, that’s right. I think I should stay as long as you like.”

Mrs. Northam panicked at Stella’s uncontrollable attitude and scolded Stella.

Stella still seemed to be spoiled, but Opal only ever felt mercy for her.

She will have to live depending on Hubert for the rest of her life.

The butler returns with his servants.

“Madam, I gathered all the people who are in the mansion now…?”

“Thank you”

The butler smiled, Opal thanked him and slowly looked around at the servants.

It was regrettable that she couldn’t meet the driver, Cave, but she might have the opportunity to meet him someday.

“Thank you for coming all the way. It’s a pity that I can’t say hello to everyone, but I can’t help it. Today, I’m here to said goodbye.”

Opal’s words made the people on the scene held their breathe.

Among them, the ones who look frightened seem to be the old ones who apparently misunderstand that they will be fired.

“Actually-“

“Stop it! Why do you do such a terrible thing?”

“…Is it terrible?”

“Everyone has been serving this mansion for a long time! It’s terrible to get fired!”

“Stella…”

The moving words of Stella made Romit weep.

They thought that she was not disciplined at all, but the angel sitting in a wheelchair defended them again.

Years and months seem to come to every human being equally.

Opal sighed deeply and opened her mouth again.

“It seems there’s a misunderstanding, I’m the one who leaves.”

“…eh?”

“I’ve divorced my husband. I’ve always been patient, but I’m finally free. So please let’s celebrate.”

Opal had a brilliant smile that they had never seen from her at the Duke’s House.

Only the new butler, who was informed of the situation to some extent, smiled and congratulated her.

Opal looks at Romit and Beth that were with open mouths staring at Stella, and then turns to the old servants again.

“My husband, no… the Duke of MacLeod… will be remarried in the not too distant future, so please everyone treat with respect and kindness his new wife. Possibly the new wife will be very young and the hostess role will be unfamiliar to her, if that’s so please help her.”

She thought it was nasty, but finally Opal exhaled, saying she could forgive only this much.

Then, even though it is only this, she felt that the things that have been accumulated for many years have now disappeared.

“Thank you for this seven years. It was fun. Goodbye!”

With a bright farewell to Stella and Romit, who are still in shock and have lost their words, Opal turned back and left the mansion.

The weather is good and Opal feels good.

Of course, there is no luggage in this mansion.

Opal went down the stairs to her own carriage, which she was waiting for, and finally looked back at the mansion.

If you look up, you can see the dirty and cloudy small windows of the attic where she stayed for a short time.

I was a bit deeply moved when I was young at that time, but I quickly changed my mind and got into the carriage.

She now headed towards a small mansion left by her grandmother.

That’s a place she could call home much more than the Duke’s mansion.

Still, today Opal was leaving for a new life.

Translated by Djurasico (dot) home (dot) blog

One thought on “[The Duchess of the Attic] Ch 25 – Ceremony II

Leave a comment