[The Duchess of the attic] Ch 8 – At the attic

“This is the tea ceremony room in the south.”
“Thank you, Beth”
Opal, guided by Beth into the room, breathed a little.
The entire south wall is covered with glass except for the window frame, and it is very bright and clear like the day, it gives an illusion that you are outdoors.
Probably because of the green wall color.
And there were two sitting sets in the room, the fabric of the chair and the desk were white, and it felt very good.
With some windows open, a refreshing breeze comes in.
Opal sighed at the sight of this wonderful room.
Stella was sitting there in her wheelchair with her eyes closed.
“I’m sorry, did I bother you?”
Opal knew that she wasn’t asleep, so she approached her.
Then, looking at the face of the person who made her life green, Opal thought that it gave… a strange subtle feeling… like it was… not real…

“No, it’s okay. I was looking outside from here because the weather is nice today.”
“Are you not going outside? Aren’t you always walking in the garden?”
“It’s not a walk. I can’t walk. So you’re Hubert’s wife?”
“Yes, so you know. Please call me Opal. And you’re Stella?”
“Correct. I knew you knew me. Didn’t you often see me from the attic?”
Stella’s smile combined with her golden curly hair made her look like a real angel.
Opal noticed, however, that there was a nasty light emitting from behind her blue eyes.
She hasn’t spent three years in the mean social world for nothing.
“I’m not going to interrupt your time, so I’m going?”
“Why? Aren’t you meeting with Hubert here?”
“You know that as well?”
“Everyone likes rumors, and if you listen a bit, you can hear everything around here.”
“so……”
If you have physical disabilities, you may be bored, but you cannot eavesdrop.
However, Opal tried to not care about her mean comments.
“You robbed me of Hubert!! I was supposed to be his wife!! You bought Hubert with filthy money!! You bad woman!!”
“I’m sorry you didn’t have the money to buy him.”
Opal replied calmly to Stella’s provocation.
Suddenly, Stella begins to cry violently and begins to cough.
Opal was amazed at her high level acting, but soon, Hubert rushed in and ran to Stella.
“What’s wrong, Stella. Calm down, take a slow breath. Look at me.”
By the time Stella’s cough had subsided, Mrs. Northam and Stella’s lady in waiting had come and the place became noisy.
In addition, a servant carefully took Stella out of the room.
And as soon as Opal was left alone with Hubert in the room, he furiously yelled at her with all his might.
“What did you tell Stella?”
“Nothing.”
“That’s not true! Stella was so upset … It may not be big deal to you, a cruel woman, but it must have been a shock to Stella.”
“so?”
“I told you not to meet Stella!”
“She was already here when I came to this room. I can’t help it. If you’re so worried, you shouldn’t have called me out of the attic.”
“What……?”
For Hubert, Stella should have always been taking a nap during this time, so he didn’t expect her to cross Opal.
Hubert thought that she would finally apologize to him when Opal asked for an audience through Beth.
So he thought that this room was better than a stubborn study, but everything was ruined.
And while making Stella feel so much pain, Opal had no remorse.
When he thinks so, the anger that has subsided will rise again.
“I’m truly disappointed at you!! because you hurt such a weak creature as Stella!! You didn’t apologize or even worry about her at all!”
“Even if I worry, she doesn’t need it. Because there are many people who care for her more than me?”
“She doesn’t need you nor anything from you!”
“Except my money?”
“Don’t say stupid things!”
“Is that so? Well, don’t worry anymore. Today I wanted to talk to you, my husband, because I want to get out of here.”
“……to go out?”
Hubert, who had just distorted his face in anger, opened his mouth.
His expression was so immature for his age that Opal really thought that this person has the mental age of a child.
“Yeah, I’m thinking of staying in my territory for a while. It’s like going home after marriage, so you don’t have to worry about me hurting your so important Stella. I’ll extend my stay there, though I think we’ll need to talk once before the season begins.”
“Oh, and what did your father say about it …”
“He won’t say anything. If you don’t let him know, he probably won’t know I’m staying in the territory, so sorry, but please lend me a carriage. I’ll get there and let him or her rest overnight and get back at the next day, and please, can I borrow some books from the library to not get bored on the way? “
Despite his anger, Hubert was frustrated by Opal’s answer, that totally ignored him.
For some reason, the word “do not go out” was about to pop out of his mouth, but Hubert rejected that impulse.
“Aside from books, it’s no exaggeration to say that everything in this house is yours. You can bring whatever you like along. Carriage, book, whatever!”
At the end, Hubert left the room angry.
He should be glad if the troublesome person is about to disappear, but his chest hurts.
There’s guilt… every time he thinks of the money she provided to pay the debts…
“She’s just asking for the money she brought here to be returned. Why must I feel guilty about it?! It’s a loan with interest!! Everything here is hers now!”
Opal sees Hubert out of the room and sits down on the couch, tired.
Packing is very easy and she doesn’t have to hurry, because she doesn’t intend to bring anything as the territory has everything she could need.
Nevertheless, she realized that what she was hoping for, that is for him to find it somewhere in his heart, to stop this nonsense less act, was an impossible dream.
After all, she was once fascinated with him. She still thought that this mess could be corrected.
Although he opposed this marriage, Opal was stubborn on proving him, that it was not her fault and that she was innocent.
(Perhaps it would have been better to escape before this marriage happened.
But I know that regret does nothing.)
You should act when there’s still time.
Opal has already decided to leave the mansion, and has decided to leave him next year.
Opal struggled to set out at first hour in the morning.

Translated by djurasico (dot) home (dot) blog

2 thoughts on “[The Duchess of the attic] Ch 8 – At the attic

    1. Should be “his”.
      This woman doesn’t even realize the only reason he married another woman was because she had spent all of his money and they need more.

      Like

Leave a comment