[The noble girl living in debt] Ch 42: Crabs and a heartbreaking story

Crack the crab shell, take out the meat, taste it, and drink a little of white wine.
I was silently repeating that flow.

Also, the sauce and vegetables sliced ​​into thin pieces, at the bottom of the bucket, are also delicious.
Ernesto taught me how to eat them.

“It’s made of the liver inside the crab shell, mix the oil and herbs on your plate with the crab meat. Add some sauce of the bucket, place it on the bread and taste it! “

Bernard follows the procedure just described, mix the oil, herbs and crab meat with the sauce of the bucket and eats it with bread.
The flavor is rich and has a little bitterness, but the salty crab meat mixed with the herbs soften it, and the crunchy bread gives the final touch.

“How is it?”

“Mmm. Delicious”

“It’s good, right?”

This bucket’s liver-sauce also goes well with the wine.

Originally, the crab liver is something you dispose of, but Ernesto said that the chef of this restaurant discovered its deliciousness and started recommending it to customers.

“Are there any other thing you want to eat?”

Ernesto presents the menu in front of him.

Looking at it, Bernard was scared. The price was not written in the column next to the dish name!

Only luxury stores do not show the price… Until you pay.

It is scary to think, how much did this crab cost?!

“Today it’s recommend a sweet dessert covered wi–“

He shocked his head saying that his stomach was full already.

“Speaking of that, you said there was something you wanted to talk about.”

Then Bernard remembered.

I didn’t come here to eat crab today, I came to investigate Ernesto!

They were drinking, but any of us is drunk, so he started questioning him.

“I have something to ask you”

“Yeah? What?”

“Do you know about the carriage attack that happened yesterday?”

“Oh, yes. I heard of it.”

He ate a meal full of strong flavors, so Ernesto was thirsty drinking water.

“Are you the culprit?”

Ernesto squirted out all the water in his mouth in Bernard’s face.

“… You”

“Well, of course. I hear something ridiculous!!”

“Is that so?”

“It’s not me! Robbery? Me? What are you thinking?”

Bernard looked him with suspicious eyes.
He pointed out that the main suspect was the same person that stuck to the end at the auction to get the wedding dress.

“And what? Is it a crime if a knight want to buy a dress?”

“You already have a criminal record”

“What did you say!?”

“It’s for the request to look for Agnes LaVerge.”

“… Excuse me?”

Bernard explained that it was against a knight’s rules and moral.
Ernesto’s eyes were wide open after hearing that.

“… I didn’t know that.”

“I’m sorry if you didn’t know but you are a knight of the king guard, someone who is an example to follow for the entire order.”

“I will have to read the rules again… Properly this time.”

For the time being, let’s talk about with Lazar about this outcome.

“Well, I don’t know if it helps now, but you can get rid of that–“

Bernard thought that he didn’t look like he was up to something fishy, but after being aware of the essence of Ernesto in the last few times they met…

It can’t be helped, he isn’t a bad guy.
He has been spoiled since he was a child and is just a brat who does not know of common sense or discipline.
Therefore, he believed that he is not involved in the case.
However, as a knight, he had to check for future discipline violations.

“What?”

“No, I mean… about the request, it’s already enough.”

“What is enough?”

“To be honest, I can’t even remember the face of Agnes Le Verge anymore.”

“What?”

“I’m not interested in her anymore”

“… Then ask why did you invite me to the auction?”

“That’s because I wanted to hang out with Orlellian.”

“That’s stupid! And uncomfortable!”

“Eh?”

“I said that it was a stupid and uncomfortable idea.”

“No, no! It wasn’t ridiculous– Well, I suppose… You’re right.”

Ernesto admits he is a stupid and unpleasant man…

“One day I suddenly realized … Wow, I have a friend!”

“… “

To be honest, Ernesto looks now like a puppy abandoned on a rainy day. But I don’t intend to give him some advice about human relationships.

“Until now, I’ve only been associated with women, but with my colleagues I never could have a good relationship… Nor be accepted in social clubs for men or …
Since I realized that there was no one who gets along well with me, I silently kept working with my co-workers and went to the social parties, but nobody cared about where I was or what I do.
How much people was around me but act so cold toward me? No matter how much I thought, I couldn’t understand it.
So I asked my boss, who I know from long long ago, our relationship is like that of a parent and his child.
Then, I received a surprising response.
I’m apparently naive, arrogant, and only think about myself and beautiful women.
Thinking this is not the true, I decided to change.
However, I never understood what did I do wrong in the first place.”

In such a situation, by chance, Ernesto began to hang out with Bernard.
Bernard Orlellian, a serious Knight, trusted by his boss and his whole unit.

“You pointed out to me what I was doing wrong, so I thought if I pass more time with someone like you, I will be able to absorb part of that chivalry of yours.”

That caused everybody to think that Ernesto and Bernard are friends.
Bernard murmured that he is still acting selfish.

Thus, Ernesto bowed down his head and honestly said I’m sorry.

Talk returns to the case of rules’ violation.

“So what should I do?”
“Once you get your punishment?”

It was reported to Lazar that he made a personal request to Bernard and offered money.
It would be wise to consult with my boss before preparing the final report’s paperwork.

Bernard observed Ernesto reaction after hearing what is possibly be selected as his punishment.
The answer was surprising.

“Ok, I’ll accept the punishment.”
“… Do you understand? In the worst case, you’ll be stripped of the knight title.”

“Ah, there’s no problem. I have to change to grow up, right? Losing it, probably will be the better for me.”

“If so, I’ll report to my boss tomorrow.”

“Then, I will confess too”

The story continued in an unexpected direction.

Bernard started thinking that maybe Ernesto will change for better, if he receives the appropriate punishment.

“Oh, about that, Orlellian”

“What?”

“Oh, after my sins get judged, I want you to hear more of my anecdotes.”

“No, I’ll have to turn down your invitation”

“Oh, come on!”

He got up from his seat and tried to cling to me, so I quickly avoided him, telling him not to touch me with his hands still filled with crab’s oil.”

“Then maybe we could go for something to eat or something… here, or another crab restaurant. I’ll buy you a drink as a thank you! Of course, I’ll pay the bill, too.”

“Crab…”

I don’t intend to get involved anymore, but my heart doubts because of the crab.
However, I thought it would be a shame to change my mind for a mere food dish and refused again.

Sensing it, Ernesto presented further favorable conditions.

“Yes, that’s right. You can come and eat with me! And you can invite your girlfriend or family.”

“!”

The crab was very delicious.
He wanted to let the servants try it as well, so Bernard, this time accepted easily.

Ernesto was pleased, looking at Bernard with teary eyes.


Bernard walked on a completely dark night road after parting with Ernesto.
Since one problem was finally resolved, his heart at peace.
Aiming to take the next carriage, he walked in direction to the platform passing through the aristocratic shopping street, a voice stopped him in his track.

“– How about buying some flowers, young man?”

Turning around, an old woman was recommending him to buy a bouquet she held in her hand.
He noticed that had entered into the Night Market in the downtown area of the city.

The Night Market is held once a month.
Although the offered goods were the same as those sold in an ordinary market, such as vegetables, fruits, foods, etc.
The exhibition fee is cheaper, and it is a popular event for the common people to go and buy goods at a cheaper price than in the daytime.
So, it’s here.

The corner lights were hung near the storefront, which combined with the darkness of the night creating a strange atmosphere.

The flowers recommended were modest and pretty, and that reminds him of Agnes.

“Are you okay?”

“!”

Surprised by the old woman’s caring voice, he denied with a movement of his head.
He realized that he was dizzy because of the happiness after being able to solve one of his problems.
Taking a coin out of his pocket, Bernard handed it over.

“Wait! The change–“

“No need”

After receiving the bouquet, he walked across the Night Market in direction to the carriage platform.
Surprisingly, the carriage came short after.

I’m returning home earlier than I thought, however, it’s already night .

At the entrance was Eric, not Agnes.
So, he asked the butler, that was still bowing about the whereabouts of Agnes.

“Agnes is waiting in her husband’s bedroom.”
“… Thanks.”

He took off his jacket, handed it to Eric and headed straight to his room.
After opening the door, he saw Agnes, who showed a bright expression, stood up from her chair and went to his side.

“Welcome back, Mr. Bernard”

“Oh, I’m home…”

Agnes looked up at Bernard’s face while smiling for a while, but her eyes gradually moved down.
Bernard also looked down at the same place and remembered that he was still holding the bouquet.

“Ehh… Th-This is!”

“Yes?”

Being embarrassed for the bouquet, he passed it to Agnes.

“For me?”

“That’s right. You can dispose of it!”

“Oh, thanks!”

Agnes smiled at the sight of the flowers and went out of the room with a happy smile to look for a vase.

Listening to the sound of the door closing, he return to his senses.
Bernard felt like all his strength was abandoning him, and walked to the chaise lounge where he sat down.

Feeling something strange on his chest, he pressed it down firmly with his hands.

The palpitations don’t go away….
Unfortunately, he still couldn’t understand the nature of that feeling.

Translated by Djurasico (dot) home (dot) blog

2 thoughts on “[The noble girl living in debt] Ch 42: Crabs and a heartbreaking story

  1. Lol…. I just went and said it in the last chapter but turns out that Ernesto is really like that… Its either he’s really changed or just pretending.

    Anyways thank you for this chapter!!

    Like

Leave a comment