[The villainess comes back in time to find the one who truly loved her one week before dying] Ch 06: Becoming friends with my Yandere sister-in-law

“Sorry to interrupt when you’re reading.”

The next day, I was reading my grimoire as usual on my room, which had a spectacular view of the sea that the first Lord Rosedale loved so much and my brother came to talk to me.

“No, please take a seat”

I closed the book I was reading and pointed at a chair across from the tea table.

“I just thought I’d say thanks to you for what you did yesterday.”

“Thank you? … Oh, thanks Irene!”

As my brother sits down, Irene serves him his favorite tea and to me, my favorite lemon juice.
My brother bows to Irene, and thanks her for the tea with a strange look on his face.

Irene bows her head quietly in response to him and then smiles at me for a moment, after that she leaves. Too cute, huh?

“… Once again, thank you so much for yesterday. Sylvia also asked me many times to thank Chelsea in her stead.”

“No, thank you. I didn’t do anything. Please tell Lady Sylvia the same.”

“….”

My brother takes a sip of tea and stares at me for some reason.

“… I honestly didn’t expect Chelsea to be the first to side with us”

“Oh, why?”

My brother scratches his head a little awkwardly.

“No… I thought Chelsea hated me lately and…”

“No, that isn’t true.”

I just know how you will react when I get thrown out of the house.

“I knew Chelsea probably wouldn’t be opposed to it. … but I honestly thought that you wouldn’t be interested in helping us at all.”

In a way, my brother’s prediction is correct.
In fact, in my past life, I had no interest in the romance between my brother and Sylvia.

Yes, my brother. You know your sister very well.

“Well I guess I was wrong about Chelsea.”

“Misunderstandings, uhm?”

“Yeah.”

“How did you feel about it?”

“You’re not angry for what I said?”

“Yes. I might tell Lady Sylvia.”

“No, that would be worst.”

“Just kidding. Huh.”

“Well, Chelsea knows how to make a joke, too, that is a surprise”

“… No, I understand perfectly. Surely brother must have thought of me as a creepy little girl, like a homunculus without feelings. It’s so sad. I knew it was Sylvia the only one that had hopes on me…”

“I never said anything about that!”

His voice sounded funny, and we ended laughing at each other.
It’s been years since I’ve had a friendly conversation with my brother.
In my previous life, we were estranged from each other for some time.

Perhaps the reason was me.
I was so occupied with the second prince that I must have become a cold person who didn’t even notice or show any interest to her family.

… Yesterday, I wasn’t there but sure enough, the discussion between my brother and sister-in-law (to be) and my parents ended without conclusion, and there was an indescribably delicate atmosphere in the dinner room when I joined them.

I played the role of the youngest child in an attempt to lighten the mood, talking to Lady Sylvia more than anyone else and trying to be cheerful.

Of course, I truly want to become friends with Lady Sylvia, but at the same time I made a conscious effort to make sure that everyone noticed that Chelsea doesn’t oppose to their relationship.

In the mansion for the past few months my image seems to be “a strangely mature, solitary girl who cares for no one but Irene”.

Since I dared to appear different from my usual appearance, my family might have thought that Chelsea liked Sylvia enough to play an outlandish character to make her feel less uncomfortable.

Of course, the person I most wanted to convey my friendly attitude (specifically, “I’m not your enemy, so don’t kill me!!”) to was Sylvia, so if Sylvia herself was thanking me repeatedly, my strategy yesterday… It was a success!!

“Brother,”

“Yeah?”

“As I may have said yesterday, I’ll support of you and Lady Sylvia.”

My brother looks at me with an impressed expression.

“…Chelsea.”

“If you need anything else, please contact me at any time. I will help you in any way I can. Please tell Lady Sylvia that too.”

“… Thank you. Thank you so much!”

Even if it looks like a good brother-sister relationship now, I only expect that they help me in the same way I did with them after I find Mason.
… I understand that my brother and Sylvia love each other with all their hearts.
That’s why I’m not lying about my desire to support them, but I can’t forget what he did to me on my previous life neither.


Since then, Sylvia and I have rapidly become good friends.
We were originally neighbors and girls close in age to each other.

My current interest is exclusively magic, and Silvia is a genius mage!
There’s no longer anything that can avoid us of getting along with each other, right?

And although it makes me ashamed to say ‘I’m only interested in what you can do for me’, honestly, interacting with Silvia was full of benefits that far exceeded my expectations.

First of all, Silvia, the cheat character who, despite being 12 years old, already has perfect control over her magic power and can use various types of advanced magic and even some of the highest level magic as if it’s nothing, she began to teach me magic in person.

Of course, I, as an ordinary person, can’t just acquire her skills.
But she was so good at teaching that I could see for myself that my magic was improving at a frightening pace since I started to receive instruction from her.

Perhaps she was leveling up my speed of growth without me noticing? But I was a little sad that my magic tutor started to look at us as monsters.

And, as it turned out, Sylvia’s special ability allows her to see other people magic and discover what attribute the person has more affinity with. (what a surprise! Really the best cheat skills, she can see the flow, the magic affinity, and even the strength of the magic power by colors).

Thus, she revealed that the attribute I have the highest affinity with is the dark attribute.

Well, I always thought it was the water attribute.
Because the mages of the Rosedale family are water-attribute mages, and I actually had a high suitability for the water attribute.
I hadn’t even thought about dark attribute magic because it was rarely taught in the school and the number of mages that can use it is very small.

But according to Sylvia, my affinity to the dark attribute is much higher than with the water attribute.

And so, I learned about the dark-attribute in my grimoires, and she taught me the dark-attribute magic that she had already mastered.
When I tried the dark-attribute magic for the first time, it produced an explosion with so much firepower that I was surprised to see for myself.

…Sylvia, you should have ‘seen’ my attribute compatibility even in my past life, if you just have told me a word about it then. … Well, it can’t be helped because in my previous life, I and Silvia had hardly ever had a conversation.

Moreover, I wasn’t interested in learning anything, even magic, so it would have been pointless that she told me about it.

What I am practicing is only what is recognized by the kingdom as legal, ok? I don’t intend to become a cursed witch or something, just to clarify doubts.

And, well, this is how I’ve grown so much in the few months since I became a friend of Sylvia. I really only have advantages in interacting with her, and no matter how much I thank her, it’s not enough.

The only disadvantage I have is that sometimes I feel sad because I think “Oh, I’m a blonde goblin now…”.
Yes, sometimes I lose my confidence.

…. Another question I have is, why am I the only one with a dark attribute compatibility?
My parents and brother all have affinity with the water attribute.
I came all the way from a previous life and now I discover that I can be adopted? It’s okay, it’s just a coincidence, right?

I’ll believe that from now.

Translated by Djurasico (dot) home (dot) blog

4 thoughts on “[The villainess comes back in time to find the one who truly loved her one week before dying] Ch 06: Becoming friends with my Yandere sister-in-law

Leave a comment