[The duchess of the attic] Ch 15 – The Duke’s reaction

Trevor has decided that, based on Hubert’s attitude, it’s better to speak while standing.

At that time, Romit appeared with tea.

Despite Romit’s mockery expression at seeing Trevor standing, he silently prepares tea for three on the table.

Originally, it was Opal, who should have made tea, but no one knew that.

Eventually, Romit leaves the study, and Hubert reopens the conversation as if he was impatient.

“So, what do you have to say? Did you bring this person here on purpose? Are you dissatisfied with the Duke’s house treatment? Apparently you complained to your father about the Duke not prospering, and so went to the city of Novoli to get yourself a new husband. No?”

“… Who did you hear it from?”

“Omar. He wrote me a letter as soon as you left for Novoli. He probably thought he had the duty to report on you too, because he’s really serious about taking care of his masters, and you’re his madam now, so he was desperately trying to contact you and when he couldn’t, he contacted me.”

Opal almost laughed at Hubert’s words.

Did he always thought that everyone under him was worthy of trust because they contacted him often?

If so, Hubert is too pure and immature.

Trevor’s coughing seems to hide Opal’s laughter.

“So, let me be honest: Omar is unreliable. There have been no disasters in the Duke’s territory in the recent years, and I suspect that Omar is embezzling– “

“It’s ridiculous! No need to say more!”

“But we actually found the evidence. Omar put the embezzled money into betting and even borrowed.”

“Is that what you came with to make me believe in you? If you found yourself a man there, you would have been able to forge plausible evidence without problem! Omar is a man whom my late father trusted and hired. I can’t believe you’re now trying to fool me! “

Who really couldn’t believe what was happening was Opal.

He does not listen to her at all. She looks astray at Hubert, who yells and shouts silly words one after another.

Apparently Trevor is also unusually surprised.

On the contrary, Hubert seems to be more and more excited about his righteousness.

“Sure, this land has been saved with your money. But the name is mine, and only mine! I will decide who to hire! I’m not going to let you change anythig! The story is over, get out of here!”

“… I see. I’m sorry.”

Surely Hubert was in a bad mood.

Opal thought that maybe something happened to Stella and that’s why he’s so foolish today.

After a while, Hubert calmed and started thinking what the next steps would be.

Opal continued walking, but soon, she was able to verify that her thoughts were wrong about the cause of Hubert’s bad mood. She saw Stella and Mrs. Northam across the hallway.

Stella had a very nasty smile on her face, and Mrs. Northam was extremely happy as they were indiscreetly hiding to hear Hubert’s yell.

“Oh, that’s the rumored lover…?”

“Yes, yes, but I’m sorry. I can’t introduce you to her. My husband told me not to meet her.”

“It’s a pretty nasty angel. It may be unscrupulous of me to say this, but is her life really at stake?”

“why?”

“I don’t see that. Isn’t the same old-fashioned physician who has been called for quite a while? You may want to see another doctor for once.”

“… Yeah, I’ll make the suggestion when my husband is in a good mood. Rather than that, I’m really sorry. Even though I had you come to the royal capital, it all turned like this.”

Opal and Trevor spoke in whispers while heading to the entrance.

Opal is also angry that the butler never showed up to send out the guests.

“Don’t mind it. It’s been a holidays trip to the royal capital. Recently, the Count’s territory has been too boring and quiet. So, how do you plan to convince the Duke? You can bring people from the Duke’s territory to testify… I wonder if you could let Lind testify too?”

Trevor came to the door and stopped

Opal smiled.

“… No, that’s okay, but I’ll go back to the Count’s territory again in a while. Hopefully, by then, I’d like to see if there are any new managers for the position of the Duke’s territory manager.”

“–Okay, young lady. I’m supporting your battle.”

“Thank you, Trevor. Be careful on the way back.”

She doesn’t know how much the servant has heard about it, but Opal spoke anyway.

Trevor leaves the mansion, leaving clear words of encouragement to her.

Opal saw him off at the front door and kept waiting there until Trevor’s carriage turned the corner. Then, she immediately went into the attic.

Not the butler, servant or Hubert has ever appeared after the conversation in the study.

Opal, sitting in front of the poor desk of the attic, regretted not thinking about choosing the time before speaking.

Omar was the custodian hired by Hubert’s father, and her words were as good as tarnishing the reputation of the former duke.

If the predecessor was still alive, it would have been another matter. Because she would have spoken to him, and Omar wouldn’t have had chance to utter such lies to cover his fraud.

Opal wrote a letter, again feeling sympathetic to Hubert.

The reply arrived the next morning, and she was surprised at the speed of the reply. Then, she immediately started reading after opening the seal.

“I’m going out this afternoon, so please get everything ready.”

“Where are you going?”

“… I wonder why I must tell you where I will go. Eh, Beth?”

“Well, I’m sorry. Please forgive me.”

“I forgive you.”

The usual Opal wouldn’t speak like this to anyone, but to the sullen look at Beth’s face, even her patience has a limit.

She doesn’t know if Beth can read, but if she can, she may have noticed that the sender was a man.

So she wonders why would she ask such a question, when she didn’t care where she go to before.

If it were Romit, he surely should be aware that the sender is male and would report it to Hubert. But for Beth… she’s not sure if she does know or not.

Her worry seemed to be correct. As soon as she tried to go out, Opal was stopped by Hubert.

“Where are you going?”

“… You’ve never been interested in my actions, so why ask such a question now?”

“Because it will put me in a difficult situation if you go see a man in a carriage with the duke’s crest.”

“I’m sorry I can’t meet your expectations, but I’m going to my uncle’s mansion. He said he would return to the royal city after a long absence and would like to see my face.”

“If it’s your uncle ?? you can go!”

“I will.”

(I was invited by my uncle who he knew was married, but I did not mention it.

I was refused anyway and it’s already troublesome as it is.)

Hubert does not seem to be interested in Opal in the first place.

It doesn’t look like a daytime visit, she carries a heavy bag of papers, but he didn’t even notice it.

Opal then visited her uncle’s house and was pleased to see him for the first time in a year.

However, after a while, her uncle was surprised about her current circumstances and opposed that Opal should cut off her relations with the Duke.

Convinced of it, he appealed for the status quo between them and vowed to protect her in the future.

He also promised to help her with all matters related to the current case and then, they departed to the Count’s territory, returning first to the Duke’s mansion to ask permission from Hubert.

When Opal returned from his uncle’s residence, she asked for permission to go to the Count’s territory, but Hubert simply said he wasn’t interested in her itinerary and said, “No need to inform me ever again. Do as you like, go where you want.”

The only thing that has changed is the attitude of Cave, the dukes’ carriage driver. He has changed considerably towards Opal, and treats her with respect and admiration, but sometimes a little pity.

Cave takes care of Opal properly as his Duchess.

Despite this irony, Opal felt that her hurt heart was being healed little by little.

Translated by Djurasico (dot) home (dot) blog

Leave a comment